War Crimes

girl

Article: Desecration of the dead is as old as war itself

Four Marines got in trouble for urinating on some dead Taliban soldiers. I understand that when you’re sent somewhere for the sole purpose of killing people, it’s probably hard to turn off the “kill” switch in dudes’ brains. I mean, a lot of these guys go to war as trained killers and then come back to be efficient work place shooters.

The dead Taliban are lucky… I’m sure there are guys that would pay a lot of money to have three Marines urinate on them.

The above article gives an idea as to what this blog is about: (Gooch, you ask, you mean uriphilia?) No… I mean corpse desecration. Like everything in the news, I’ve experienced the subject matter first hand. I present to you an essay:

******

I wasn’t even born yet, but that didn’t stop me from forging a birth certificate and enlisting in the Army. The year was 1968 and I belonged to one of the first battalions deployed to the conflict in Vietnam.

Much like in today’s wars, there is a lot of one on one combat. It’s different than the anonymity of killing someone with a bomb or a grenade from a distance. Killing someone while you stare into their eyes is something you carry with you for the rest of your life. It fucks with your head. You have to reach into the darkest place in your soul and realize it’s either you or him that’s going to die in that moment. You have to dehumanize the enemy. It’s really, really depressing.

Fortunately we made light of the whole thing by desecrating the bodies of our enemies. Much like today’s military, we had the time of our lives urinating on corpses and staging puppet shows with dismembered enemy heads. I wonder if they still use fishing line to move the mouths?

In all fairness… we were pragmatists. Sure we desecrated the bodies but we found practical uses for the corpses. For example, when we ran out of Q-tips, we would cut off a pinky of the deceased and use that to clean out our ears. The Vietnamese didn’t use nail clippers, so a single dismembered hand provided five regular head screwdrivers in different sizes. Fingers with tougher nails were used to open care packages.

One time, I made a floating party barge out of 20 enemy corpses I’d strung together with wire and twine. We used the open mouths to hold our cans of Budweiser .

Like many American soldiers in Vietnam, I would cut off ears of those I killed and make a necklace out of them. If I got lonely, I would take one of the ears and set it on the pillow next to me while I lay in bed and tell it all of my problems. Sometimes I would loan my ears to my brothers in arms if they needed someone to talk to. This is where the phrase “lend me your ear” comes from. True story.

One time, one of my Sergeants seemed depressed. I offered him one of the ears from my necklace and he said “what I really need is a shoulder to cry on.”

“Hell…” I said, as i loaded my M-16, “I can have one here in about 15 minutes.”

goochout

Leave a comment